Graf unveils content board's digital appointments

Philip Graf

Ofcom deputy chairman Philip Graf has announced three new members of the regulator's content board following a review which seeks to expand the board's focus on digital content "with the transition to all-digital television broadcasting due to begin in two years' time".

Graf—who chairs the content board—has appointed:

  • Former BBC news chief Richard Ayre as Ofcom content board member for England.
  • Academic Dr Paul Moore as member for Northern Ireland.
  • Magic Lantern Productions' CEO Anthony Lilley.

Non-executive members Sue Balsom, board member for Wales, and former Newsnight producer Pam Giddy, have been reappointed. A new non-executive member is being sought to represent the interests of Scotland.

The total of non-executive members of the content board will be ten. This includes: Philip Graf, chairman; Adam Singer, deputy chairman; Kath Worrall, chair of the fairness committee, reappointed in April; Millie Banerjee, a non-executive member of the main Ofcom board. In addition, there are two Ofcom executive members of the content board: Kip Meek and Tim Suter.

Philip Graf said: "The content board will play a critical role in shaping Ofcom's approach to digital broadcasting and the growth of content delivery over digital networks. I'm delighted with these new appointments."

Lovelace Consulting  |  17.07.2006

Previous story  |  Next story