DVB appoints new chairman

Phil Laven has been elected as Chairman of the DVB project, the DVB steering board has announced.

Laven will replace Theo Peek who was part of the group that founded DVB in 1993 and has been its Chairman for the past 12 years.

Previously Technical Director of the EBU and Vice-Chairman of DVB, Laven has worked closely with the DVB board for many years.

Before joining the EBU in 1997, he worked for the BBC where he held a variety of senior positions, including Controller of Engineering Policy and Chief Engineer R&D.

More recently he has been representing the interests of terrestrial broadcasters across Europe on matters of spectrum policy.

At the same board meeting, DVB members approved the new DVB-T2 specification.

The upgrade to the DVB-T standard will now be sent to ETSI for publication as a formal standard

Image: Phil Laven at the DTG Summit 2008

DTG Staff  |  01.07.2008

Previous story  |  Next story