Ofcom announces appointments to the Advisory Committees for Wales and Northern Ireland

Ofcom has announced the appointments of new Chairmen to its Advisory Committees for Wales and Northern Ireland.

Ofcom has Advisory Committees for each nation of the UK. These committees offer information and advice to Ofcom on aspects of its work, and of communications in general, which are of particular importance to each nation.

The full membership of each of the Advisory Committees represents a wide range of previous experience and skills.

The new Chairman for the Advisory Committee for Wales is:

John Davies

John is a telecommunications consultant and communications company director. The former Director of BT Wales and Chief Operations Officer of BT Wholesale, John has an MBA from London Business School. He lives in Cardiff and is Chairman of Adventurers Quay Management Ltd and a Director of Burgh Island Causeway. John has been a member of the Advisory Committee for Wales since 2007.

The new Chairman for the Advisory Committee for Northern Ireland is:

Maureen Edmondson

Maureen has worked in the food industry for much of her career and has held a number of roles in public sector and not-for-profit organisations. She spent 20 years at Mars Incorporated and later held public positions at Postwatch, the Food Standards Agency and is currently Chair of the Patient and Client Council. Maureen holds a degree and PhD from Queens University of Belfast and was a member of the Communications Consumer Panel between 2008 and 2012 as a member for Northern Ireland.

The new chairmen will take up their roles in early 2014.

DTG Staff  |  01.11.2013

Previous story  |  Next story