Germany issues DTT licences for Lower Saxony

NLM logo

Niedersächsische Landesmedienanstalt (NLM), the local media authority for Lower Saxony, has issued licences to broadcasters interested in participating in the upcoming DTT launch in the northern regional state.

The rollout, which is scheduled for 24 May in the cities of Hannover and Braunschweig, will see one multiplex being taken by Cologne-based RTL Television Group with its RTL, VOX, RTL II and Super RTL TV channels. Another bouquet will be shared by its Munich-based competitor, Pro Sieben SAT.1 Media, which will offer SAT.1, Pro Sieben, Kabel 1 and N24 within its DTT package. Two further multiplexes will be used by public broadcasters ARD and ZDF for their range of general interest and thematic channels. In total, 16 television channels will be available from launch.

Two additional DTT multiplexes, with capacity for another 8 television channels - 4 each from public and commercial broadcasters - will complement the offer in November. Both domestic and international television channels can tender their expressions of interest in the available capacity from June.

Map showing DTT coverage in German lander

Jörn Krieger  |  07.05.2004

Previous story  |  Next story