Ofcom awards Swansea and Mold local TV licences

Ofcom has awarded licences to run local TV services in Swansea and Mold on digital terrestrial TV.

The licences are awarded to:

  • Swansea: Bay TV Swansea
  • Mold: Bay TV Clywd

The awards follow legislation enabling Ofcom to issue local TV licences. The channels will be broadcast on DTT by the local multiplex, a discrete amount of spectrum reserved for local TV broadcasting on DTT.

Ofcom has now awarded 25 local TV licences, as well as the multiplex licence. The first local TV channel began broadcasting on DTT in Grimsby on 26 November 2013.

In June 2013, Ofcom started the second phase of local TV licensing by inviting applications to run local TV services in seven local areas, including Swansea and Mold. In September 2013 Ofcom invited applicants for further 11 Local TV locations.

Ofcom awarded a local TV multiplex licence to Comux UK Ltd in 2013. The local multiplex licence is for a period of 12 years and all local services will run until the same date.

Statements setting out the main reasons for the award of these two local TV licences for Swansea and Mold have been published on the Ofcom website.

DTG Staff  |  23.01.2014

Previous story  |  Next story