New European Audiovisual Regulators Group Announced

The new European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services (ERGA) held its inaugural meeting on 04 March 2014, electing a new Chair (Mr Oliver Shrameck, currently President of the French regulator, the CSA) and two Vice-Chairs (Mr Jan Dworak, President of the Polish regulator KRRiT and Ms Madeleine de Cock Buning, President of the Dutch regulator CvdM).

The group has been set up with two main purposes in mind: first, to advise and assist the Commission in its work to ensure a consistent implementation of the content regulatory framework, in particular the AVMS Directive; and second, to provide for an exchange of information, experience and good practice.

It will complement the work of the Contact Committee (composed of Member States governments) and that of other cooperation networks, most notably the European Platform of Regulatory Authorities (“EPRA”), a wider and independent group of 52 broadcast regulators from across Europe (including Ofcom) which has been in existence for almost 20 years.


On 03 February 2014, the European Commission announced the creation of a new European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services (ERGA).

DTG Staff  |  07.03.2014

Previous story  |  Next story