The Force Awakens in Dolby, CEA becomes CTA, and EU plans portable copyright: DTG daily news November 17th 2015

Star Wars VIII awakens to Dolby Cinema

Star Wars: The Force Awakens will be presented in Dolby Vision and Dolby Atoms at compatible cinemas, continuing the saga's involvement with Dolby technology.

Dolby Vision uses advanced optics and image processing to deliver high dynamic range with enhanced colour technology and contrast ratio, while Dolby Atmos is a 3D surround sound delivery system.

CEA now CTA, swaps Electronics for Technology

The US Consumer Electronics Association has changed its name to the Consumer Technology Association ahead of next year's CES convention (which isn't yet becoming the CTS).

The organisation has also announced the formation of a Disruptive Innovation Council. The new body will help innovative companies that are disrupting traditional business models and empowering consumers navigate market and policy challenges.

EU looks at content portability for copyright

The European Commission wants to include flexible "content portability" provisions in its proposals for copyright reform in 2016, as well as cross-border copyright piracy enforcement.

Content portability rules could enable consumers to carry the rights to content throughout the EU, for example watching BBC iPlayer or a UK Netflix account while they travel within Europe.

Image: Walt Disney

DTG Staff  |  17.11.2015

Previous story  |  Next story